DISTINGUISHING FLAGS
 


 
III CORPS    ARMY OF THE POTOMAC
 

On 7 February 1863 Army of the Potomac General Order No. 10 specified a designating flag for headquarters of corps:  blue, swallowtailed, with the number of the corps in red on a white botonee-style cross. Then on 12 May 1863 General Order No. 53 specified a complete set of division and brigade flags. Each corps was assigned a unique badge (a diamond for III Corps) which appeared on these flags. The corps headquarters flags, however, were not changed until 1864, when General Order No. 115 specified that they were to bear their number on the corps badge. The III Corps was dissolved in March 1864, possibly before it received a flag of that pattern, though one is shown by Flags of the Army of the United States Carried During the War of the Rebellion, published in 1887 under the direction of the Quartermaster General, US Army. At the time of its dissolution III Corps had only two divisions; these were transferred to II Corps but were permitted to retain their III Corps badges and flags.
 



 

DESIGNS AUTHORIZED PER GENERAL ORDERS NUMBERS 10, 53 & 115

 

HEADQUARTERS III CORPS

 

PER GENERAL ORDER NO. 10

 

PER GENERAL ORDER NO. 115

 

III CORPS ARTILLERY BRIGADE

 

III CORPS QUARTERMASTER

 

1st DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE

 

4th BRIGADE

 

2nd DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE

 

4th BRIGADE

 

3rd DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE
 

 

4th BRIGADE
 



BACK to UNION ARMY FLAGS Page