DISTINGUISHING FLAGS
 


 
IX CORPS    ARMY OF THE POTOMAC
 

On 7 February 1863 Army of the Potomac General Order No. 10 specified a designating flag for headquarters of corps:  blue, swallowtailed, with the number of the corps in red on a white botonee-style cross. Then on 12 May 1863 General Order No. 53 specified a complete set of division and brigade flags. Each corps was assigned a unique badge which appeared on these flags. The corps headquarters flags, however, were not changed until 1864, when General Order No. 115 specified that they were to bear their number on the corps badge.

Before joining the Army of the Potomac, IX Corps constituted an independent command under Major General Ambrose E. Burnside. His headquarters flag was a variant of the National Flag with the IX Corps badge in the canton. This was changed to the standard swallotailed blue flag with badge when IX Corps joined the Army of the Potomac, though without the corps number.
 



 

DESIGNS AUTHORIZED PER GENERAL ORDER NUMBER 53 & 110

 

HEADQUARTERS IX CORPS

 

IX CORPS ARTILLERY BRIGADE

 

IX CORPS QUARTERMASTER

 

1st DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE

 

4th BRIGADE

 

2nd DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE

 

4th BRIGADE

 

3rd DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE

 

4th BRIGADE

 

4th DIVISION

 

1st BRIGADE

 

2nd BRIGADE

 

3rd BRIGADE
 

 

4th BRIGADE
 



BACK to UNION ARMY FLAGS Page